Work It Out – Lucy Rose’ new album


lucyrose

Lucy’s second album is more modern and contemporary compared to her last.  Where she drove her sound with acoustic guitar with a fairly organic band sound (albeit with a little technology here and there with keyboards and trigger pads) on ‘Like I Used To’ she has temporarily put down the acoustic guitar for ‘Work It Out’.  Although it does feature on some tracks…

There is the inevitable second-album-more-money-in-the-pot production to bring Lucy bang up to date but her whispery vocals are ever present and her melodies more adventurous too.

Here’s what she said in a review with DIY…

I think a lot of it is down to what I was writing on that’s given that feel. When we were touring so much in America, there are a few songs on there which had been written on an iPad, on a BeatMaker, so they’re very much beat-driven and bass-driven instead of so much acoustic guitar. There’s that side of the album, which has that part of it, but then when I came home and the album wasn’t finished. I had all of this material that I’d been writing on the road, so it was important to also have ‘Lucy back at home’ writing. That’s when I wrote songs like ‘Like An Arrow’,  when I was back at home with an acoustic guitar and it wasn’t so restricted.”

(you can see/hear Like An Arrow here in one of my earlier blogs)

This is a stand out track and this video is great too… ‘Till The End’

One thought on “Work It Out – Lucy Rose’ new album

Leave a Reply - I'd love to hear from you!