What am I reading now…


in time

Somewhere in Time by Richard Matheson

Somewhere in Time has been in my ‘TOWER’ of books for a while (must do an update on this!) and I’ve been waiting to read it for inspiration.  A while back, I recorded a soundbed of a song called ‘BID TIME RETURN’ which remained an instrumental.  I originally came up with the idea because I had the phrase in my head ‘bid time return’.  I’m not sure why it was in my head but after a little Google session, I realised it was linked to a book and that there had been a movie version too.

time movie

Somewhere in Time (1980)

Brief synopsis:

In 1972, playwright Richard Collier (Christopher Reeve) becomes fascinated by a photo of Elise McKenna (Jane Seymour), a turn-of-the-century stage actress, while staying at the Grand Hotel in Mackinac Island, Michigan. As Richard’s obsession grows, he learns from a friend that time travel may actually be possible through hypnosis. Richard travels in time to meet Elise, and the two appear destined to be together. However, Elise’s jealous manager (Christopher Plummer) attempts to keep them apart.

This is great fantasy stuff – time travel, hypnosis, modern day vs early 1900’s, addiction, obsession etc…

So, this intrigued me more, but having watched the movie, I felt that reading the original book may give me some greater inspiration for lyric ideas for my ‘Bid Time Return’ instrumental and turn it into the song I originally started.

It seems to take me a while to get through books at the moment – too many distractions & too little time – but this book is my next read.

Leave a Reply - I'd love to hear from you!

