Exotic Words – (G) Galeanthropy.


Galeanthropy

(rare) A mental condition of thinking that one has become a cat, usually manifest in the adoption of feline mannerisms and habits.

(Origin) From Ancient Greek γαλῆ (galē), contracted form of γαλέη (galeē, “a name given to various animals of the weasel

kind”), +‎ -anthropy.

I might be alone in this, (I hope I’m not alone in this!…I’m not alone in this, am I?!) but there are times when I think…

I might be cat!

I always find the warm spot and sit there

I sometimes purr when contented

I often bring gifts with a gleeful face

I stare into space

I can be selectively deaf

My kneading skills are great (making bread though)

If provoked, I can hiss

I can often chatter (but not at birds through the window)

I sometimes make little ‘Brrr’ or chirrup noises to myself

If I really like you, I’ll rub my cheek on you

I might pat your face to attract your attention

I’m very curious

I sometimes have a mad half hour

Although, I don’t roll in the street, I don’t show my tummy for a rub, I don’t scratch the furniture and I don’t need to bury my…you know what!!!

But I don’t think I’m quite as annoying as this…

(video courtesy of Simon’s Cat – Simon Tofield)

One thought on “Exotic Words – (G) Galeanthropy.

  1. I think everyone is probably familiar with lycanthropy. I don’t know why it never occurred to me that there would be words for other types. I’m tempted to start looking up more.

    Like

Leave a Reply - I'd love to hear from you!

