Confession – Sneaky Book Addition!


100 years

Gabriel Garcia Marques – One Hundred Years of Solitude. 

As some may know I have a book tower which I am currently reading my way through…

booktower update 1

…currently I have ‘The Book Thief’ on the go at the moment, but I kind of came across this book by Gabriel Garcia Marques – One Hundred Years of Solitude. 

100 years

I read another blogger’s reading collection blog where they had one or two of Marques’ books and couldn’t rate them high enough.  Also, curiously, It was part of a question on UK game show ‘Pointless’ and I thought ‘I’ve heard of that book recently’  Intrigued, I had a look around and discovered it was a book which is a MUST read for anyone and everyone.

The New York Times says “It should be required reading for the entire human race”  Mmm? That good huh?!

The Guardian says “Enormously, kaleidoscopically, mysteriously alive”

and even Salman Rushdie says “The greatest novel in any language of the last fifty years”.

OK, so you got me! Long story short – quick click around Amazon, and bang!  There it is in my ‘To Read Tower’

It was a good deal!

(Don’t know when I’ll get around to reading it tho!)

Anyone read it? What did you think?

4 thoughts on “Confession – Sneaky Book Addition!

    • Yes it seems to be one of those that gets passed around either physically or by word of mouth. I’m intrigued – but at the same time I gather it’s a lot to take in, so I’ll need to be in the mood for it I think!

      Like

Leave a Reply - I'd love to hear from you!

