Amazing Bass! – Woman in Chains.


fretless bass

As a musician, I appreciate all music in general but I sway towards guitars and bass guitar in terms of sound.  Bass guitar is so important but seems get ‘lost’ in favour of the most exciting sounds, like guitar, sonically speaking and also visually.

I’m going to post a series called ‘Amazing Bass’ where I highlight how bass is so integral to a particular song, the players and who they play for.  I know, I know, a bit nerdy maybe but please bear with me! 🙂

In each post I intend to finish off with a video of a classic track where, I think you’ll be amazed at how that bass line ‘makes’ the song – and maybe you probably were not aware of its musical presence before.

In each case, please grab a coffee (or whatever), sit back, relax, and concentrate on the bass baby! – (use headphones if you can!)

Being Mothering Sunday today, and to kick things off, I’ve chosen Tears For Fears ‘Woman in Chains’.  Written by Roland Orazabal, (the band was primarily a duo – Roland Orazabal & Curt Smith), it’s such a great chill out track for today with the amazing Pino Palladino’s beautiful fretless bass line, it’s a really emotive track.

I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply - I'd love to hear from you!

