Bookish Photo A Day Challenge – February 2015: 18. Not Your Book.


In response to Bluebookbelle’s Bookish Photo A Day Challenge – February 2015 #AWORphotoaday

Not Your Book – I could have taken this as literally, ‘a book that is not mine.’  However, I have interpreted ‘not your book’, as a book that I maybe wouldn’t ordinarily have chosen to read.  Therefore – ‘not my kind of book’.

I Capture The Castle by Dodie Smith.

castle

When I first started blogging I looked at other people’s blogs and noticed that Bluebookbelle had mentioned this book on two occasions and I was curious.  When I looked it up I realised it was a classic, first published in 1949 and (how did I not realise) Dodie Smith wrote one of my favourite children’s stories One Hundred And One Dalmatians (1956). So, not ‘my’ book, I had to purchase it immediately from Amazon.

The only thing is, I have so many books to read just now, that it is residing in a pile waiting to be read.  I will be slightly sneaky though and bring it forward as my next read!

The reason for this is simple: It is a recommended read (thank you Bluebookbelle) and on the back of my copy there are two enticing sentences…

…the first line: ‘I write this sitting in the kitchen sink’

…and: ‘This book has one of the most charismatic narrators I’ve ever met’ J.K Rowling.

Two great reasons to read great a book If I ever saw them!

6 thoughts on “Bookish Photo A Day Challenge – February 2015: 18. Not Your Book.

  1. My interest piqued, now I need to read it! I have, as have you, a pile of waiting books; needing to be reviewed. Then along comes sonny Jim; (your good self) with more. Time to prioritise. 😄😇

    Like

  2. Now the book is finished,” I capture the castle” I feel lonely, almost bereft. How is it , that a book I had spent fifty years not knowing about can do this? And she certainly did. Capture the Castle. Beautifully composed and full of layers. Thank you for the introduction.

    Like

Leave a Reply - I'd love to hear from you!

