Bookish Photo A Day Challenge – February 2015: 13. Spine.


In response to Bluebookbelle’s Bookish Photo A Day Challenge – February 2015 #AWORphotoaday

When I thought about this challenge, I immediately thought of the moment I literally chose a book by its SPINE.

I was in a second hand book shop and I was just casually browsing, looking for inspiration, waiting for something to jump out at me… then something like this happened…

spine

(No, it didn’t slide out towards me in a spooky way!) …not sure if you can see this recreation I’ve staged in my bookshelf(?), where the book is kind of sticking out? – asking to be pulled free?!

It was: ATLANTIS by David Gibbins.

Not only was it sticking out, but the golden, winged symbol and the word Atlantis, together with a background design of marble, really made me whip it from the shelf and eagerly take a good look.  Once I’d read the blurb on the back I impulsively purchased it, as I was dying to get stuck into it.

This is what did it for me:

Atlantis is an unputdownable read which throws light on a story still shrouded in mystery.  Part thriller, part history lesson, part adventure story, Atlantis is The Da Vinci Code for a new generation: only this time, it really could be true…

It was such a great read and ‘as it said on the tin’, it was unputdownable!

I did read more books from David Gibbins but I did tend to find them more of a history lesson at times which, for me, detracted from the story…still very good though – just need to be in the mood!

One thought on “Bookish Photo A Day Challenge – February 2015: 13. Spine.

  1. Pingback: 9x9x9x9 Poem! | mikeytbull

Leave a Reply - I'd love to hear from you!

