Bookish Photo A Day Challenge – February 2015: 11. Tiny Book.


In response to Bluebookbelle’s Bookish Photo A Day Challenge – February 2015 #AWORphotoaday

My Tiny Book is

The Overland Launch

KINDLE_CAMERA_1422898425000

By C Walter Hodges.

This book was given to me one Christmas when I was very young. So young that I remember thinking I couldn’t read it – it was a grown up book (or so thought).

It is a children’s book – ages ten to fourteen and I was certainly younger than ten! One day I did decide to read it and I remember it took me ages, week’s, probably months. But actually, it’s great little story.

Based on true events, it tells the story of a crew of lifeboat men and an extraordinary series of events which happened as they attempted to launch their lifeboat. Set along the Exmoor coast, the date was 13th January 1899.  The ship Forest Hall was about to be driven onto rocks by a terrible winter storm. The Lynmouth lifeboat crew had to find an appropriate place to launch their lifeboat by dragging it, with horses and men, most of the way uphill, for 13 miles to a safe spot.  Thus this was a dangerous overland launch.

The conditions seemed impossible and many obstacles lay in their path. I remember a part where they needed to turn a tight corner past a cottage and resolved to dismantle part of the cottage to succeed!

 A great tiny book, with an intriguing true story of bravery. I remember it fondly and it reminds me of some eager bedtimes, probably at the age 10 or 11.

Leave a Reply - I'd love to hear from you!

