Vampire Blues.


In response to my own post – (in response to bluebookbelle’s bookish photo a day February challenge No.9), I had remembered that I had written a fledgling song which was inspired by,

The Interview With The Vampire.

int w vamp

I think I may have made a rough demo once upon a time… but can I find it??! (It’s probably on cassette somewhere – what’s a cassette? *I hear people musing!*)… Anyway, the lyrics were from Louis de Pointe du Lac’s perspective:

Vampire Blues

I’m on a vampires list, it’s not for me that I care, It’s my home that’s at risk.

His perspicacity leaves me aghast, at one with the night, he finds me at last.

Look into my eyes, emerald green.  My human side, it don’t know where I’ve been.

My friend ’til the end if you give me your hand – enter my skin, you’re in my command.

Oh how white, my face tonight.  Come the light, he reminds me to retire.

The city’s my home with the need to flourish.

Conflict boils dry with the need to nourish.

Set like stone in his mind, together we’ll find & more of us will cry “the devil inside”.

Journey man song “I’ve travelled so far” Oh to the east with my Claudia.

To escape Lestat and all he stands for.

Rats in the hold – beware our lore…

Oh how white, my face tonight.  Come the light, he reminds me to retire.

© MT

(I suppose I could always re-record it…) : )

And, I wonder how many songs have the word ‘perspicacity’ in them?!

4 thoughts on “Vampire Blues.

Leave a Reply - I'd love to hear from you!

