Bookish Photo A Day Challenge – February 2015: 9. Film Adaptation.


In response to Bluebookbelle’s Bookish Photo A Day Challenge – February 2015 #AWORphotoaday

My choice for film adaptation is…

Interview With The Vampire by Anne Rice

vamp

This book, I’ve just had look now, is the 1977 print – it was first published in 1976 I believe.  I think a friend gave it to me, saying ‘you must read this’ before the film was released, so in 1994 sometime.  I’ve still got it for some reason!  However, it was one of those books I read which was a real page turner.  I love the story and how it unfolds from the “interview”.  I did see the film when it came out and I thought it was ok…(ish), but I much preferred the book and how it read in my imagination.

So this is the gist of the story/film:

Born as an 18th-century lord, Louis (Brad Pitt) is now a bicentennial vampire, telling his story to an eager biographer (Christian Slater). Suicidal after the death of his family, he meets Lestat (Tom Cruise), a vampire who persuades him to choose immortality over death and become his companion. Eventually, gentle Louis resolves to leave his violent maker, but Lestat guilts him into staying by turning a young girl, Claudia (Kirsten Dunst) — whose addition to the “family” breeds even more conflict…
I haven’t seen the film for a long time, but the book is certainly still on my book shelf!

Leave a Reply - I'd love to hear from you!

