Bookish Photo A Day Challenge – February 2015: 3. Old Book.


In response to Bluebookbelle’s Bookish Photo A Day Challenge – February 2015 #AWORphotoaday

This is my Old Book

big book1

…It is a Vintage 1950/60s How to Draw series book “How to Draw Trees”

I believe this was part of an art series of “how to draw…” books published by Walter T Foster around the 1950s & 1960s (USA)

“How to Draw Trees” is by Frederick Garner. I was my Mum’s book and when I was interested in art at school, she dug it out and gave it to me. I’ve kept it ever since and It’s one of those books you cannot part with – the pictures alone are beautiful. It’s one I’ll keep a hold of despite its rather large size – 10 1/4″ (26cm) wide X 14″ (36cm) long. Soft cover too.

I think this is Garner’s second book on trees and in it he focuses on the details of trees and their landscapes. And more importantly, how to actually do it, with annotations & advice on the pages. The pencil rendering techniques are so simple, yet amazingly effective!

big book2big book3

…the sort of stuff they should have taught you in art school but they didn’t! 😉

Leave a Reply - I'd love to hear from you!

